Scrum for Schools Blog # 3 for Chapter 3

Being a member of a transcendent educational team has always been a dream of mine. I have pictured myself in many of the same ways that members of championship teams or flawless performers imagine themselves. I was once told when I owned the pipe dream of becoming a Division-I basketball player that the best thing to do when shooting free throws was to imagine oneself making the shot before actually shooting it. So I continue to dream big. I continue to imagine the shot swishing through the net.

In order to be a leader or an integral member of a dream educational team, I know I need to pull the right levers. Too often have I been in teams where people are pressing all the wrong buttons. Petty disagreements and personality clashes too often get in the way of true progress as fundamental attribution errors start to rear their ugly heads. It pains me to say that I have witnessed childish tactics utilized to manipulate or “lead” a group in a certain direction, championing the individual in the eyes of evaluators as opposed to celebrating the entire team. Transcendence becomes impossible when there is silly infighting and wasted time over perceived internal threats and unexplainable, borderline neurotic insecurities.

Autonomy, the type I have often been granted at String Theory Schools by my administrators, has been a huge ingredient in my growth as someone technologically fluent and pedagogically well-versed. This autonomy has also lead to flexibility on my end as I have served to increase my cross-functionality when it comes to assessment, learning management systems, coursework, course-building, and app implementation.

I have been lucky, too, to have those who celebrate my “small wins” and encouraged me along the way. For example, when I published my first iBook, the members of my administration took it upon themselves to post a link to the book in the faculty announcements to showcase an example of my labors.

As I seek to establish or become a member of a transcendent team, I know that the “blame game” or finding fault too easily in others will simply not work. It’s not helpful to see members of your own team as the enemy or as opposition, even if you are a competitive force. It’s better to celebrate their small wins, their daily victories, and be happy for their successes. You’re not only giving birth to positive vibes and facilitating an environment conducive to great work; you’re celebrating the potential of mankind and rooting for everyone. It’s always fun to root for transcendent teams. It’s even better to be a part of them.

Leave a comment